The governing body has a range of duties and powers and a general responsibility for the conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement. 

Its responsibility include but are not limited to:

  • Setting targets for pupil achievement
  • Managing the school’s finances 
  • Making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based 
  • Appointing staff 
  • Reviewing staff performance and pay 

Aims and role

The Governors’ aim is to support the Head Teacher in the day-today running of the school. They are ultimately responsible for the school and are active in the areas of Curriculum, Finance, Health and Safety, Premises and Staffing. They meet each term for a full Governors’ meeting and once a term in committee. Each Governor is attached to a particular area of the curriculum and visits the School once to a term to discuss their area of responsibility, in addition to this each member of the Governing Body spends at least one morning a year in school, visiting classes and observing break and lunch times. 

Governing Board

Chair of Governors: Kylie Boyle – Safeguarding Governor

Vice Chair: Rachel Tomlinson-Leyden

Head Teacher: Matthew Herbert

Staff Governor: Jennie Cooper 

Staff Governor: Amanda Deighton 

Co-opted Governor: Sam Cox

Co-opted Governor: Rosie Hutton 

Co-opted Governor: Amanda Scrimgeour

Co-opted Governor: Peter Farrell

Clerk to the Governors: Becky Clark


Chair – Sam Cox

Matthew Herbert

Amanda Deighton

Rachel Tomlinson-Leyden

Amanda Scrimgeour

Chair – Rosie Hutton

Matthew Herbert

Jennie Cooper

Kylie Boyle

Peter Farrell

Thank you for visiting our website

We hope that you enjoy your visit to our website, and you find the information you are looking for. If you would like to talk to us about our wonderful school, please get in touch with us.